submenu indicator and item check is not drawing in wxMenu on mac Topic is solved

Do you have a typical platform dependent issue you're battling with ? Ask it here. Make sure you mention your platform, compiler, and wxWidgets version.
Post Reply
bhaweshkc
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 6:22 am

submenu indicator and item check is not drawing in wxMenu on mac

Post by bhaweshkc » Wed Mar 10, 2021 8:30 am

wxMenu is not drawing properly when menu item is either a submenu or checked item. submenu indicator is missing for menu items which has submenu and check mark is missing for menu items which are created with wxITEM_CHECK.
Issue is reproducible only with specific language (eg. wxLANGUAGE_RUSSIAN).
issue is also reproducible with menu sample available in wxWidgets samples. only modification to the menu sample is to add line

Code: Select all

wxLocale* loc = new wxLocale(wxLANGUAGE_RUSSIAN);
at the first line of frame constructor.
Below image shows the display issue of menu sample.
menu.jpg
menu.jpg (60.44 KiB) Viewed 2254 times
wx Environment:
Version: 3.1.4
OS: macOS Big Sur Version 11.0
IDE: Xcode 12.0
macos_sdk: MACSDK10.15
wxWidgets built with cmake

Code: Select all

cmake -DCMAKE_OSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET=10.13 -DCMAKE_CXX_STANDARD=14 -DCMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES=x86_64 -DwxBUILD_MONOLITHIC=ON -DwxBUILD_SAMPLES=ALL -G "Xcode" path_to_wxwidgets_source_dir

PB
Part Of The Furniture
Part Of The Furniture
Posts: 3042
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: submenu indicator and item check is not drawing in wxMenu on mac

Post by PB » Wed Mar 10, 2021 9:34 am

I am not familiar with macOS but Is this different from the issues caused by locales not using decimal dot but decimal comma, see
https://trac.wxwidgets.org/ticket/19023
and
https://groups.google.com/g/wx-dev/c/1EmqyDWGzfE

bhaweshkc
Earned a small fee
Earned a small fee
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 6:22 am

Re: submenu indicator and item check is not drawing in wxMenu on mac

Post by bhaweshkc » Wed Mar 10, 2021 10:42 am

that seems to be the cause of the issue. Thanks for the link.

Post Reply